YulePlay

Blog Posts By Date

Blog Tags

Follow Us

Christmas Music Blog

Song of The Day: The Vonnair Sisters - Goodbye To Toyland

Monday, April 09, 2012

A rare foray into Christmas 1962 courtesy of the long lost Vonnaire Sisters.

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer

Sunday, April 08, 2012

Doo-wop, do what I hear you say but the Melodeers could start a life long passion for this forgotten genre.

Song of The Day: Leon Payne - Christmas Everyday

Saturday, April 07, 2012

As leisurely as Christmas songs get 'Christmas Everyday' could even sound good as the sun goes down on another balmy day.

Song of The Day: Smith And Burrows - The Christmas Song

Friday, April 06, 2012

A collaboration that turns that old staple on its head without the expected rush of blood to the head.

Song of The Day: Dickie Valentine - Christmas Alphabet

Thursday, April 05, 2012

The earliest UK Christmas No. 1 that was actually about Christmas.

Song of The Day: Jose Mari Chan - A Perfect Christmas

Wednesday, April 04, 2012

A Filopino takes a song from a British musical and gives it worldwide appeal.

Song of The Day: Gayla Peevey - I Want a Hippopotamus For Christmas

Tuesday, April 03, 2012

The novelty hit that put it up to every novelty hit that ever was.

Song of The Day: Mickey Mouse and Friends - Christmas Medley

Monday, April 02, 2012

A relatively recent Christmas singalong from a host of Disney favourites.

Song of The Day: The Wedding Present - Step Into Christmas

Sunday, April 01, 2012

A alternative view of Elton John's Christmas song courtesy of Northern England.

Song of The Day: The Clancy Brothers - Silent Night

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

A traditional take on the famous carol by Irish folksters the Clancy Brothers.

Song of The Day: Owl City - The Christmas Song

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Not another dreaded cover of the classic, instead it turns out to be a fine original from an artist who is going somewhere fast.

Song of The Day: Marty Stuart - Even Santa Claus Gets The Blues

Monday, March 26, 2012

Marty Stuart's slow country stroll proves that the big man is prone to normal feelings just like the rest of us.

Song of The Day: Will Ferrell and John C. Reilly - Peace on Earth/Little Drummer Boy

Sunday, March 25, 2012

This is not outwardly funny but that a look at the original and see the subtlety in Ferrell's performance.

Song of The Day: Elmo and Patsy - Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer

Friday, March 23, 2012

A novelty hit that netted the loveable Elmo a lifetime of Christmasses.

Song of The Day: Max Headroom - Merry Christmas Santa Claus (You're A Lovely Guy)

Thursday, March 22, 2012

A Channel 4 animated TV creation that bore a human love of all things December.